IMPORTANT INFORMATION - RESIDENTIAL ROOFERS - LICENSING LAW CHANGE- EFFECTIVE JANUARY 01, 2022

EFFECTIVE January 1, 2022, to perform Residential Roofing, you must be REGISTERED with the Residential Committee instead of having a Home Improvement Roofing License. The Registration is ONLY for Roofers. If you perform other types of Residential work in addition to Roofing, you will need to maintain your Home Improvement License. To apply for the Residential Roofing Registration, the form is below under "Residential Roofing Registration New Application."

IMPORTANT INFORMATION-For USA Military

Active Duty Military and their Spouses and Veterans Discharged in the last 12 months 

We appreciate your service! Please note that if you or your spouse are currently on active duty or were discharged within the last 12 months, your application for license will be expedited. In addition, if you have a license in another state, you may be able to obtain a temporary license. Call us for more information!

IMPORTANT INFORMATION- LICENSING LAW CHANGE - Effective July 2020

  • Subcontractors of Properly Licensed Contractors will be able to work with a Registration instead of a full license.
  • Licensed Contractors will have the option of providing a bond instead of the currently required financial statement.
  • It will be a Class “A” misdemeanor to work without a license where one is required.
  • Temporary Licenses are now available.
  • Enhanced criminal background checks.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION- LICENSE RENEWALS - Effective February 2020

A Postcard will be mailed notifying contractors when its time to renew their license. The license can be renewed online (under "Renew a license") or by paper renewal. After receiving the postcard, if you would like to renew by paper, email us at Contractors.Licensing.Board@arkansas.gov or by phone at 501-372-4661.  

Welcome

Welcome to the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board. The Contractors Licensing Board was created in 1939 to protect the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Arkansas.  The Residential Committee was created in 1999 to license the builders of new homes in Arkansas to further protect the health, safety and welfare of Arkansans.

The Licensing Board and the Residential Committee establish minimum standards for licensed contractors that include experience in the construction industry, business skills and financial stability.  The construction industry is a vital part of the Arkansas economy and is a driving force in the creation of jobs in our State. 

We at the Contractors Licensing Board are proud of our roll in this vibrant and important aspect of the lives of our fellow citizens of Arkansas.