Temporary Commercial Licensing Application



State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

Application Fees are Non-Refundable/Non-Transferable

CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117

Main Phone# (501) 372-4661 / Fax# (501) 372-2247 / Email: contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov Web Site: www.arkansas.gov/clb

If you don't meet the following requirements, then STOP....

- 1. This application is for contractors that have a current STATE contractor license OR can provide references (on attached reference forms) showing experience for the classification(s) requested.
- 2. A temporary license will **only be valid for 90 days once issued** and CANNOT be reapplied for, renewed, or reinstated.
- 3. This temporary license will allow applicants, 90 days from the date of issuance to complete all licensing requirements for a contractor license that will be renewable. (See the Commercial New Application)
- 4. Under the temporary license the job must be completed within the 90 days from the date of issuance or a contractor license that will be renewable must be valid. (See the Commercial New Application)

The following must be submitted together in order to apply for this temporary license.

- 1. Copy of current STATE contractor license(s) from another state or 3 completed reference forms (see attached reference forms on pages 4, 5, and 6) showing experience in the classification(s) requested. Reference forms must be **signed within 90 days** of date new application received in our office.
- 2. \$100 Filing Fee (check or money order only payable to Contractors Licensing Board)
- 3. Complete Questions 1-7 on page 2.
- 4. Complete page 3. (See boxed section regarding Arkansas Trade License/Certificate that must be obtained before applying for the Arkansas temporary contractor license.)
- 5. Complete and sign the Affidavit on page 7.
- 6. Required financial statement. (See Financial Requirements below)
- 7. Fully executed \$10,000.00 Contractor's Bond, that <u>must be in Principal Name & EIN, as registered with the IRS.</u>
- 8. If applying other than an individual, remit a copy of your entity's Secretary of State information showing that the company is currently registered. If applying with a d/b/a, also remit a copy of that registration.

Financial Requirements -

- To apply for a "RESTRICTED" Commercial License, (projects that are less than \$750,000 including, but not limited to, labor and materials), remit a "Compiled" financial statement from a CPA (CPA cannot be an "in-house" CPA) that is less than a year old. The financial statement must include the CPA's report letter and the balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method). Refer to Rules Act 150 (224-25-6). One half (1/2) of the net worth requirement for the classification(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and cannot be a stockholder note to the company or receivables.
- To apply for a <u>"Unrestricted" Commercial License</u>, (projects of any size), remit a "Reviewed" or "Audited" financial statement from a CPA (CPA cannot be an "in-house CPA) that is less than a year old. The financial statement must include the CPA's audited opinion letter or review report page, balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method), and the notes to the balance sheet. Refer to Rules Act 150 (224-25-6). One half (1/2) of the net worth requirement for the classification(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and cannot be a stockholder note to the company or receivables.
- To submit a Bond in Lieu of a financial statement, use the "Surety Bond in Lieu of Financial Statement" at www.arkansas.gov/clb under FORMS. (ORIGINAL completed bond must be filed with the Board for processing)
 Understand that this bond does not replace the \$10,000 Contractors Surety Bond that is required.

	office use only:		
	ansas Contractors Licensing Board	ID4	+
	mporary Commercial License 00 – Ck/MO#	יטו.	(For office use only)
	Restricted Unrestricted		(i or omed dec omy)
1.	Does the business hold a current STATE contractor lice NO	ms (see pages 4, 5, and 6).	
2.	Legal Company/Individual Name "Exactly" as requesting to be licensed:		
3	(Name must be exactly as it reads on the out of state contractor license).		
Э.	3. IF applicable - "Doing Business As" (D/B/A) or Fictitious Name:		
	(Name must be exactly as it reads on the out of state contractor license).		
4.	EIN/Federal ID#:		
5.	Mailing Address:		
	City: State: 2	Zip Code:	
6.	Contact Information: Company Phone#		
	Fax#		
	Company Email Address Contact Person		
7.	Below complete Information: (Please be sure to put midd		
۲.		ie iliitiai ili ilailles)	
	If applying as a Sole Proprietorship:		
	Name (w/ middle initial):SSN:		
	If applying as a Corporation, etc. (please put middle initial in names):		
	President:	SSN:	
	Vice-President:	SSN:	
	Secretary:	SSN:	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Treasurer:	SSN:	
	List anyone/corporation that owns 10% or more interest in the entity requesting a license:		
	Name:	SSN or EIN:	
	Name:		

the State of Arkansas (BE SPECIFIC). Understand that if applying for any classification that requires an Arkansas Trade License/Certificate then that trade license must be obtained first before a Temporary Contractor License can be issued (see box below for phone numbers to the Arkansas Trade/Certificate Boards).		
If any of the following specialty classifica a copy of the Arkansas trade license/cert		
 Asbestos (call 501-682-0744) Boiler Construction & Repair (call 501-682-453) Electrical (501-682-4548) Elevator, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts Gas Fitter (501-661-2642) HVACR (501-683-5475) Landscaping with planting (501-225-1598) Lead Abatement (501-671-1472) Plumbing (501-661-2642) Refrigeration, Cold Storage (501-682-9201) Septic Tank Installation & Repair (501-648-512) Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation (501-682-9201) Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection & M Sprinkler, Fire Protection (501-661-7903) Underground Storage Tanks (501-682-0993) Water Wells (501-682-3900) 	(501-682-4538) 446) 01) onitoring Systems (501-618-8600)	
Complete the following section for each person the (if more than one then make a copy of this form for		
Name:	Social Security #:	
How long has this individual been with this company?	·	
	 Sole Owner Full Time Paid Employee Officer, member, or partner of this company and is actively involved in the day to day operations of this company 	

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License, must complete this form and complete it legibly.)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application	(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, <u>NOT CREDIT HISTORY.</u>
1. Yes No Are you related to or affiliated with the lf yes, you are not eligible to complete this form S	
2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference verifying work experience for:	
3 To your personal knowledge, how long has listed in this reference?	the company or individual been performing the type of work
4. List the type of work this company or individual has c the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structu	ompleted of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if ure, Etc. (be specific)
	completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state sture, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the project(s), s), and approximate date of the project(s).
6. Yes No Are you aware of any project that this	company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
7. In your own words describe this company or individua needs.	al's overall performance and ability to meet the customers'
8. Yes No Would you recommend this company	or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
9. Yes No Are you aware of any incidences who failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please	ere this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, provide details.
By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath the attachments, is/are true and correct.	at the foregoing reference information, including any
Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)	
	Signature
	Date
	Phone No.

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License, must complete this form and complete it legibly.)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application	(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, NOT CREDIT HISTORY.
Yes No Are you related to or affiliated with the lf yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. S	
2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference verifying work experience for:	for an employee of a company, list the individual you are
	the company or individual been performing the type of work
4. List the type of work this company or individual has company the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structu	ompleted of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if ire, Etc. (be specific)
	nas completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the ne project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).
6. Yes No Are you aware of any project that this	company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
7. In your own words describe this company or individua needs.	al's overall performance and ability to meet the customers'
8. Yes No Would you recommend this company	or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
9. Yes No Are you aware of any incidences who failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please	ere this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, provide details.
By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath the attachments, is/are true and correct.	at the foregoing reference information, including any
Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)	
	Signature
	Date
	Phone No

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License, must complete this form and complete it legibly.)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application	(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, <u>NOT CREDIT HISTORY.</u>
Yes No Are you related to or affiliated with the lf yes, you are not eligible to complete this form.	
2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference verifying work experience for:	e for an employee of a company, list the individual you are
3 To your personal knowledge, how long has listed in this reference?	the company or individual been performing the type of work
4. List the type of work this company or individual has c the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structu	completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if ure, Etc. (be specific)
	completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state cture, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the project(s), s), and approximate date of the project(s).
6. Yes No Are you aware of any project that this	s company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
7. In your own words describe this company or individuanceds.	al's overall performance and ability to meet the customers'
8. Yes No Would you recommend this company	or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
9. Yes No Are you aware of any incidences who failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please	ere this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, provide details.
By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath the attachments, is/are true and correct.	at the foregoing reference information, including any
Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)	
	Signature
	Date
	Phone No

AFFIDAVIT

For Corporation, LLC, LP, LLP, Partnership or Sole Proprietorship

l,	, being duly sworn/affirmed, state under oath:
(Name of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor	ship)
That I am of	:
That I am of (Compa	any Name, if applicable)
Further, that the foregoing statement of experience and all statemen true and correct; Further, that I am familiar with the books and recor	ds of the above mentioned company showing its financial
condition; that the financial statement(s) and any accompanying final from the books and records of said company and form a true and act of the date shown; Further, that the foregoing statements of experienciensing Board or the Residential Contractors Committee for the exthe applicant as a contractor in the State of Arkansas, and that any obsupply such Board or Committee with any information necessary to sauthorized to release to the Contractors Licensing Board, or its representative, any information necessary to show proper compliances, including the obtaining and reviewing of a criminal background.	ccurate statement of the financial condition of said company as note and financial condition are submitted to the Contractors express purpose of inducing the Board or Committee to license depository, vendor or state agency is hereby authorized to verify these statements. Any agency of the State of Arkansas presentative, or the Residential Contractors Committee, or its ce with A.C.A § 17-25-501 et

(Signature of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietorship)

Instructions for Arkansas' \$10,000 "SURETY" Bond

** All "<u>Unrestricted or Restricted Commercial</u>" Contractors are required to have this bond filed with the Board to have a valid license. **

AGENTS: (Bond must have Contractors - Company Name and its EIN)

Only this prescribed form will be accepted. (Any alterations must have prior approval from the Contractors Licensing Board)

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident agency, agent, broker or producer that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

**A copy of "Arkansas Insurance License" must be attached, as this will speed up the processing of the bond.

**

IF issued by Direct Underwriter:

The bond may be executed solely by the "Surety" company. An underwriter (employee) that "works directly" for the "Surety" need only sign the "bottom left" line and "indicate" that you're a "direct underwriter".

Continuation Certificates are not required, as our bonds are continuous until cancelled.

CONTRACTORS:

"<u>Principal Company Name</u>" and "<u>EIN"</u> must appear on the bond, <u>exactly</u> as registered with the "IRS". This name is how all work and bids are to be performed in Arkansas. (Any other name could constitute a possible violation)

See that the bond is filed with the Board as directed at the bottom of the bond form, for processing. A license is not valid without this bond in place with the Board.

<u>Any change in the Federal ID# requires a new bond be executed</u>. Any change in company name will require other documentation, **please call for instructions first.

For questions regarding this bond, contact Michelle Spoor at 501-371-1506 or michelle.spoor@arkansas.gov.



Effective Date_____

\$10,000 Surety Bond (Required by A.C.A. § 17-25-401)

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident insurance agency, agent, broker, producer, or surety (as a direct underwriter) that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

Bond Number				
STATE OF ARKANSAS WHEREAS, under the terms of A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., every contractor described therein must file with the Contractors Licensing Board a corporate surety bond or cash bond to secure compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-401, et. seq.				
WHEREAS, every such contractor is required to comply with all the terms of said Code, and all rules and regulations promulgated by the Contractors Licensing Board pursuant to the authority of said Code, in the performance of contracts in the State of Arkansas:				
NOW, therefore, we, the undersigned, as Principal and Surety (below), are held firmly bound to the State of Arkansas in the <u>Sum of Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000)</u> for payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, conditioned that if the undersigned principal shall promptly pay any amount of money due as provided in A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., then this obligation shall be null and void; otherwise, it shall be in full force and effect.				
The Surety reserves, however, the right to canotice to the Principal and to the State of Ark	cancel the above bond on the giving of sixty (60) days written kansas (Contractors Licensing Board).			
Principal's Company Name and "EIN" ((as filed with the IRS) Business Address & Phone#			
Surety's Name,	Address, and Phone#			
Agents: ** Arkansas Insurance License	"must" be attached **			
Insurance Company Name or Agent (<u>"Exactly" as it</u>	t appears on the AR Insurance License)			
Mailing Address & Phone#				
Signature of Agent/Broker/Producer	Printed Name			
, -	or IF Direct Underwriter - "Surety" Employee Signature			
REVISED 4/2021	rearly ansas gov) or fav (E01 272 2247) hand to the			
•	r@arkansas.gov) or fax (501-372-2247) bond to the Board or ACLB, 4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, AR, 72117			