
Temporary  
Commercial Licensing Application 

 
State of Arkansas  

Contractors Licensing Board 
 

Application Fees are Non-Refundable/Non-Transferable 
 

MAIL TO: 
CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD 

4100 RICHARDS ROAD 
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 

Main Phone Number (501) 372-4661 
Web Site:  www.arkansas.gov/clb 

 
If you don’t meet the following requirements, then STOP…. 
1. This application is ONLY for contractors that have a CURRENT out of state contractor license. 
2. A temporary license will only be valid for 90 days once issued and CANNOT be reapplied for, 

renewed, or reinstated. 
3. This temporary license will allow applicants, 90 days from the date of issued to complete all licensing 

requirements for a contractor license that will be renewable.  (See the Commercial New Application)  
4. Under the temporary license the job must completed within the 90 days from the date of issued or a 

contractor license that will be renewable must be valid. (See the Commercial New Application) 
 

The following must be “mailed” together in order to apply for this temporary license.  
1. Copy of current contractor license(s) from another state. 
2. $100 Filing Fee (check or money order only – payable to Contractors Licensing Board) 
3. Complete Questions 1-7 on page 2. 
4. Complete page 3. (See boxed section regarding Arkansas Trade License/Certificate that must be 

obtained before applying for the Arkansas temporary contractor license.) 
5. Complete, sign and have notarized (including notary stamp) page 4, (Affidavit) 
6. Required financial statement from a CPA.  (See Financial Requirements below) 
7. The completed “Original” $10,000 Contractors Surety Bond. (See Bond Form and Instructions attached) 
 

If you CANNOT meet the “above” requirements, then a temporary license cannot be 
issued. 
Financial Requirements –  

 To apply for a “RESTRICTED” Commercial License, (projects that are less than $750,000 
including, but not limited to, labor and materials), remit a “Compiled” financial statement from a 
CPA (CPA cannot be an “in-house” CPA) that is less than a year old.  The financial statement 
must include the CPA’s report letter and the balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or 
Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method).  Refer to Rules Act 150 (224-25-6).  One half (1/2) of the net 
worth requirement for the classification(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and cannot be a 
stockholder note to the company or receivables.    

 To apply for a “Unrestricted” Commercial License, (projects of any size), remit a “Reviewed” 
or “Audited” financial statement from a CPA (CPA cannot be an “in-house CPA) that is less than 
a year old.  The financial statement must include the CPA’s audited opinion letter or review report 
page, balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method), 
and the notes to the balance sheet.  Refer to Rules Act 150 (224-25-6).  One half (1/2) of the net 
worth requirement for the classification(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and cannot be a 
stockholder note to the company or receivables.    
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      For office use only: 
      Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board 

    Temporary Commercial License                                          ID# __________ 
     $100 – Ck/MO# ___________________                                                        (For office use only) 

      Restricted     Unrestricted 
 
1. Does the business hold a current contractors license outside of Arkansas? 

___ NO  If no, you DO NOT qualify for a temporary license.  See the Commercial New Application. 
___ YES If yes, attach a copy of license(s) from another state. 
 

2. Company/Individual Name “Exactly” as Licensed on Out of State contractors license: 
 

______________________________________________________________________ 
(Name must be exactly as it reads on the out of state contractor license). 
 

3. IF applicable  - “Doing Business As” (D/B/A) or Fictitious Name:  
 

______________________________________________________________________ 
(Name must be exactly as it reads on the out of state contractor license). 
 

4. EIN/Federal ID#: __________________________ 
 

5. Mailing Address: ________________________________________________________ 
 

City:  __________________________  State:  _____   Zip Code:  ______________ 
 

6. Contact Information: 
Company Phone# ___________________________ 

 

Fax# ______________________________________ 
 

Company Email Address ___________________________________________ 
 

Contact Person ________________________________________________ 
 

7. Below complete Information: (Please be sure to put middle initial in names) 
 

If applying as a Sole Proprietorship: 
 

Name (w/ middle initial): _____________________________________SSN:_______________________ 
 
 

If applying as a Corporation, etc: 
 

 President: ____________________________________  SSN:_______________________ 
 

 Vice-President: ________________________________  SSN:_______________________ 
 

 Secretary: ____________________________________  SSN:_______________________ 
 

 Treasurer: ____________________________________  SSN:_______________________ 
 
List anyone/corporation that owns 10% or more interest in the entity requesting a license: 
 
Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
 

Name: ________________________________________  SSN or EIN:_______________________ 
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List the type of work you propose to perform as a License Contractor in 
the State of Arkansas (BE SPECIFIC).  Understand that if applying for any 
classification that requires an Arkansas Trade License/Certificate then that  
trade license must be obtained first before a Temporary Contractor License 
can be issued (see box below for phone numbers to the Arkansas Trade/ 
Certificate Boards). 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If any of the following specialty classifications are being requested then attach 
 a copy of the Arkansas trade license/certificate. 
 
1. Asbestos (call 501-682-0718) 
2. Boiler Construction & Repair (call 501-682-4513) 
3. Electrical (501-682-4549) 
4. Elevator, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts (501-682-4530) 
5. Gas Fitter (501-661-2642) 
6. HVACR (501-682-9201) 
7. Landscaping with planting (501-225-1598) 
8. Lead Abatement (501-671-1472) 
9. Plumbing (501-661-2642) 
10. Refrigeration, Cold Storage (501-682-9201) 
11. Septic Tank Installation & Repair (501-661-2171) 
12. Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation (501-682-9201) 
13. Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection & Monitoring Systems (501-618-8600) 
14. Sprinkler, Fire Protection (501-661-7903) 
15. Underground Storage Tanks (501-682-0993) 
16. Water Wells (501-682-3900) 
 
 
Complete the following section for each person that holds an Arkansas trade license/certificate 
(if more than one then make copies of this form for each person). 
 
Name:  ___________________________________   Social Security #:   _________________________ 
 
How long has this individual been with this company?   ____________ 
 
Position they hold with is company, check one: _____ Sole Owner 
      _____ Full Time Paid Employee 
      _____ Officer, member, or partner of this company 
                 and is actively involved in the day to day 
                 operations of this company 
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AFFIDAVIT 
For Corporation, LLC, LP, LLP, Partnership or Sole Proprietorship 

 
 
  I, _____________________________________________________, being duly sworn/affirmed, state under oath:  

     (Name of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietorship)  
 

 

That I am _______________________ of _________________________________________; 
                          (Position held)                                     (Company Name, if applicable) 
 
 
 
Further, that the foregoing statement of experience and all statements contained within this application, including attachments 
are true and correct; Further, that I am familiar with the books and records of the above mentioned company showing its 
financial condition; that the financial statement(s) and any accompanying financial data attached hereto (or submitted 
separately) are taken from the books and records of said company and form a true and accurate statement of the financial 
condition of said company as of the date shown; Further, that the foregoing statements of experience and financial condition 
are submitted to the Contractors Licensing Board or the Residential Contractors Committee for the express purpose of 
inducing the Board or Committee to license the applicant as a contractor in the State of Arkansas, and that any depository, 
vendor or state agency is hereby authorized to supply such Board or Committee with any information necessary to verify these 
statements.  Any agency of the State of Arkansas is authorized to release to the Contractors Licensing Board, or its 
representative, or the Residential Contractors Committee, or its representative, any information necessary to show proper 
compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-101 et seq., or A.C.A. § 17-25-501 et seq., including the obtaining and reviewing of a criminal 
background check. 
 
 
         
                                                                                         ______________________________________________ 
                  (Signature of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietorship) 

 
 
 
State of _______________________ 
 

County of _____________________ 
 
Acknowledged before me, this _____ day of _________________,20___. 
 

My Commission expires: ______________ 
 
 
___________________________________ 
(Notary Public Signature) & notary stamp 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ARKANSAS $10,000  
CONTRACTORS “SURETY” BOND 

 
 

** All “Unrestricted or Restricted Commercial” Contractors  
are required to have this bond filed with the Board. ** 

 
 
 

MAIL COMPLETED “ORIGINAL” BOND, POWER OF ATTORNEY, AND  
 

AR INSURANCE LICENSE TO THE BOARD AT: Contractors Licensing Board,  
 

4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, AR  72117 
 
 

AGENTS:  
 

Only this prescribed form will be accepted.  (Any alterations must have prior approval from the Contractors 
Licensing Board) 
 
Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident agency, agent, broker or producer that is 
currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.   
**A copy of “Arkansas Insurance License” must be attached, as this will speed up the 
process of the bond being processed.** 
 

        IF issued by Direct Underwriter:  
 

The bond may be executed solely by the “Surety” company.  An underwriter that “works directly” 
for the “Surety” need only sign the “bottom left” line and “indicate” that you’re a “direct 
underwriter”. 
 
Continuation Certificates are not required, as our bonds are continuous until cancelled. 
 
 

 
CONTRACTORS: 
 
 

 “Principal Company Name” exactly as registered with the Secretary of State, this name is how 
all bids and work is to be performed.  (Any other name could constitute a possible violation) 
 
**The Board will only receive the “Original Bond” with Power of Attorney, AR insurance 
license, with all “Principal”, Surety and Agency/Agent information completed (unless a 
direct underwriter), otherwise the bond could be rejected.**   
 
Any change in the Federal ID# requires a new bond be executed.  Any change in company name will require other documentation, 
**please call for instructions first.  
 

For questions regarding this bond, contact Michelle Spoor at 501-371-1506 or michelle.spoor@arkansas.gov. 
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$10,000 Surety Bond  
        (Required by A.C.A. § 17-25-401)                                    

 

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident agency, agent, broker, producer, or surety (as a direct 
underwriter) that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.  
 

**A copy of that Arkansas Insurance License “must” be attached** 
 
Effective Date_______________   
Bond Number_______________   
 

STATE OF ARKANSAS                   
WHEREAS, under the terms of A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., every contractor described therein must file with the Contractors Licensing Board a 
corporate surety bond or cash bond to secure compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-401, et. seq. 
 

WHEREAS, every such contractor is required to comply with all the terms of said Code, and all rules and regulations promulgated by the Contractors 
Licensing Board pursuant to the authority of said Code, in the performance of contracts in the State of Arkansas: 
 

NOW, therefore, we, the undersigned, ________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                           Principal’s Company Name exactly as filed with the Secretary of State or will appear on the                            
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

                                                                                                                                                                               Contractors License 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Principal Business Address                                                               City                              State   Zip Code                        Phone Number 
 

as Principal, and Surety’s Name:____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Surety Address                                                                               City                              State   Zip Code                       Phone Number 
 

as surety, are held firmly bound to the State of Arkansas in the Sum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) for payment of which we bind ourselves,  
our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, conditioned that if the undersigned principal shall promptly pay any amount  
of money due as provided in A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., then this obligation shall be null and void; otherwise, it shall be in full force and effect. 
 

The Surety reserves, however, the right to cancel the above bond on the giving of sixty (60) days written notice to the Principal and to the State of 
Arkansas (Contractors Licensing Board). 
 

Agents:  Please attach a copy of the Arkansas Insurance License 
 
 
______________________________________________                  ___________________________________________ 
Company Name of Agency/Broker/Producer                                   Principal’s Signature                                                                         
(“Exactly” as it appears on the AR insurance license)                                   (Must be an Owner, Officer, Partner, Member) 
                  
______________________________________________                       ___________________________________________                 
Mailing Address (of Agency/Broker/Producer)   Title - (Ex: Owner, Officer, Partner, Member) 
 
___________________________________________   ________________________________________                                   
City/State/Zip Code                          Phone Number                         Principal’s Federal ID#                                            
                
_________________________________________________________ 
**Agent’s/Broker’s/Producer’s Signature**                                                                                                           
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
 

Power of Attorney Signature  
or “Surety” Signature – □ IF Direct Underwriter                
       
 

“ORIGINAL” SIGNED, AND PROPERLY EXECUTED BOND, POWER OF ATTORNEY, & COPY OF ARKANSAS INSURANCE 
LICENSE ARE TO BE FILED WITH THE BOARD AT:   Contractors Licensing Board or CLB, 4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, 
AR, 72117                       

Revised 11/2019                  6. 


